Retirement and Compensation Commission Appointed

Provisions of the FY 2013 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) called for the establishment of a nine-member Military Compensation and Retirement Modernization Commission to review all aspects of military pay, benefits and retirement compensation. President Obama appointed the Honorable Alphonso Maldon Jr. to serve as the panel’s chairman, and the House and Senate each appointed four commissioners:   former Senators Larry Pressler (S.D.) and Bob Kerrey (Nebr.); former Congressmen Chris Carney (Pa.) and Steve Buyer (Ind.); retired Navy Adm. Edmund Giambastiani, Jr.; retired Army General Peter Chiarelli; former Defense Department (DoD) comptroller Dov Zakheim and Mike Higgins, former Professional Staffer with the House Armed Services Committee. 

DoD is required to provide the commission with its recommendations by November 1, 2013, with the stipulation that the commission will not reduce benefits for any current retiree.

FRA has consistently expressed serious concerns about cost-driven efforts to “reform” pay and benefits and contends that the current pay and benefit package is key to recruiting and retention and sustaining military readiness.   FRA is closely monitoring the activities and deliberations of the commission and will seek opportunities to provide input.