FRA understands the importance of the military’s most important asset – people. Our mission to support enlisted personnel includes active involvement in the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard’s recognition programs. Each year FRA recognizes standout performers in the enlisted ranks.Image

FRA has been a strong sponsor of the Navy’s Sailors of the Year (SOY) program since its inception in 1972.  The Association annually hosts a Capitol Hill reception for the honorees and their families.  FRA is also on hand when each SOY is meritoriously promoted to Chief Petty Officer, standing by to congratulate each new Chief with a monetary gift card to help defray travel costs incurred by families who travel to D.C. for the event. Many FRA branches recognize the local and command Sailors of the Year in their areas.

During annual events, FRA pays tribute to the Marine Corps’ exceptional Marine Security Guards (MSGs), Drill Instructors (DIs), Security Instructors, School of Infantry Instructors, and Career Counselors. Honor graduates of the Marine Corps’ Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Academy are also recognized with FRA’s “Gung-Ho” Award and receive a K-Bar knife and plaque.

The Association also salutes the Coast Guard’s Honors Program recipients (formerly the Enlisted Persons of the Year or EPOY) during annual ceremonies in Washington, D.C., that salute the service’s Active Duty, Reserve, Civilian and Non-Appropriated Funds Civilian Member of the Year.

FRA is proud to annually recognize the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard’s outstanding Recruiters of the Year with a Capitol Hill ceremony and reception.

Additionally, FRA branches across the country recognize local achievements by area Sailors, Marines and Coast Guardsmen.  FRA annually recognizes an outstanding graduate of the U. S. Naval Academy and the U. S. Coast Guard Academy.

Pinnacle Award

FRA works closely with members of Congress and their staff to advance the Association’s legislative agenda. Each year, FRA presents its prestigious Pinnacle Award to a member of Congress whose service and leadership epitomizes the Association’s three cardinal principles of Loyalty, Protection and Service. 

For a list of winners, click here.