FRA Salutes Outstanding Sailors and Coast Guardsmen

On May 10th, FRA’s East Coast Regional President Don Hoover represented National President Mark Kilgore and the Association at ceremonies to honor the Coast Guard’s Enlisted Persons of the Year. Penny Collins, the Association’s director of Membership and Retention, also attended the events and FRA salutes BM1 Benjamin Snider, active duty Enlisted Person of the Year (EPOY), and YN1 Stepheni Norton, Reserve EPOY.

FRA also congratulates the Navy’s 2012 Sailors of the Year (SOY), who were meritoriously promoted to chief petty officers during ceremonies in the D.C. area this week. AWSC (NAC/AW) Brain W. DeNike, 2012 Reserve Sailor of the Year; CTNC(IDW/AW) Shannon N. McQueen, 2012 CNO Shore Sailor of the Year; ETC(AW/SW) Cheyenne N. Shasky,   2012 U.S. Fleet Forces Sailor of the Year and member of FRA Branch 293 (Elizabeth City, N.C.); and HMC(FMF) Joseph C. Santos, 2012 U.S. Pacific Fleet Sailor of the Year and member of FRA Branch 46 (Honolulu, Hawaii), participated in a variety of recognition events as part of SOY Week festivities. National Executive Director Joe Barnes, RPEC Hoover, Outreach Manager Bob Washington and Assistant Legislative Director Ed Dockery participated in several events, including an FRA-sponsored tour of the U.S. Capitol and a Capitol Hill luncheon for the SOYs and their families, and an advancement ceremony held yesterday at the U.S. Navy Memorial.