New FRA Leadership

Delegates at FRA’s 86th National Convention conducted Association business and elected new officers for the coming year during the annual gathering in Chattanooga, Tenn. NVP Virgil Courneya (Branch 274, Reno, Nev.) was named FRA’s new national president and PRPNW John Ippert (Branch 46, Honolulu, Hawaii) was elected as national vice-president for the 2013-2014 Association year.

Delegates also elected Shipmate Tom Snee (Branch 181, Arlington, Va.) to serve as National Executive Director (NED) for a three-year term. Snee will lead the National Headquarters (NHQ) team and succeeds Joe Barnes as FRA’s chief executive. Delegates also bestowed the title of National Executive Director Emeritus to Barnes as a tribute to his outstanding leadership over the past 11 years.

NHQ congratulates all the newly-elected leaders and wishes them a successful and productive term of office. Further convention news will be highlighted in the December issue of FRA Today.